Obesity has been found to be a serious health hazard the world over, over the past few decades. What are the causes behind it and what are the effects of it on various sections of the community?

Over the course of last decades, the world has faced a wide range of health problems and obesity is not an exception. In fact, there are various factors such as physical inactivity and over-eating which brings about dire consequences for both the person and the society. The main reason behind the rapid rise in the population of over-weight individuals is their sedentary lifestyle. In many books the 21st century is addressed as leg-less man era because thanks to the prevalence of technology, people are glued to their chairs more than ever before. Even little children show a tendency to watch an animation movie rather than going to park or spending time in nature. Moreover, another root cause of gaining weight is unhealthy eating habits such as consuming sugar and oil in excess. Today’s cuisines are mainly based on fried meat and white flour that has more calories than the body entails. for example, a study in Nashville University discovered that by omitting sugary beverages such as energy drinks, the process of losing weight becomes faster. Obviously, If the number of over-weighted people continues to increase, all the members of a society would be affected significantly. The individuals who has more than average weight, are more likely to suffer from severe health problems like blood pressure and diabetes, therefore individuals and governments need to allocate significant budgets on health issues. As a tangible example, a news report on BBC declared that more than two and a half million dollars has been spent to cure some weight-related discomforts in 2020. Moreover, some individuals that are fat prefer to stay at home, thereby triggering the feeling of laziness and isolation gradually. As a result, they become less productive and cannot contribute In summary, the phenomenon of obesity is considered to be one of the most concerning issues all around the world. This hazardous situation is rooted in our bad decisions on food consumption and lack of movement, consequently it is hampering lots of lives by disengaging individuals from simple activities like walking in beaches or hiking in mountains.