It is often cited that “Not everything that is learned is contained in books”. According to many, we learn most of the things from our own experience while others believe that books are our main source of knowledge. Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

While some people believe that learning is most efficient through experiences, others argue that books are the primary source of information and learning. I believe that experience is the most profound way to understand and obtain knowledge. There are several options to better understand a circumstance. This can be through experiencing for some, meanwhile it can be via books for others. Even though both are beneficial, the best choice can depend on multiple reasons such as personality and characteristics. To illustrate, some people are explorers, they like to experience things by themselves. This is also about their critical thinking and cognitive competencies as well. Despite obtaining information from the books, it will not be as effective as experiencing first-hand. In contrast, a substantial amount of individuals think that it is not necessary to explore all over again while it is written by experts in books and experienced beforehand. Moreover, they are not as motivated as the explorers. One of the biggest differences between them is that, for some thisis asort a sort of job and they have the courage and willingness to do it. The ones who use books as a source of wisdom, are mostly discouraged and lack the motivation to understand the knowledge by experiencing it. For instance, historians and archaeologists are primary examples of this. Historians would prefer to learn things by reading. On the other hand, seeing, experimenting, exploring and many other ways are the best choice for archaeologists to gain insight. In conclusion, in my opinion, both books and experiences are indispensable and a crucial part of gaining knowledge. Nonetheless, experiencing things can foster understanding and expand one's horizons better than solely relying on books.