Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

Some children stay online on their devices for unlimited hours. This essay will discuss some of the reasons for this phenomenon and will explain why I think it is a negative development. On the one hand, Children feel bored most of the time after school hours because the majority of them are not involved in any after-school activities or clubs. Moreover, when they are home they have nothing to do apart from staying online. For example, research has shown that primary students who have no activities after school tend to spend longer time online compared to their peers who attend any type of activities. Another reason for this trend is the lack of parents' attention, such as spending extra time at work or working longer hours. Meaning that they get home tired unable to track down their children and what they are doing during the day.Because they want to rest. However, this makes them vulnerable to any strangers who are using the internet to reach out to them without their parents. As a result, I strongly believe it is a negative development. There is a significant link between screen time and behavioural issues as well because when juniors spend time online they are exposed to a variety of media materials that are sometimes harmful to them. In conclusion, Young children have a bad habit of being online on a daily basis, due to Borden's feelings that some of them may have, Also, Some are left unwatched which emphasize them to carry out online activities because their parents are busy or tired. As a result, I strongly think it is a negative development