In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It has become easier to see that more people prefer to live in cities now, due to the fact that rural people have decided to reside in urban areas. As a result, the population in the countryside has plunged dramatically. From my perspective, I believe this is a negative step. I will elaborate on my reasons further in this essay. First of all, it is irrefutable that the cities have solved several issues. However, the decreasing number in rural areas is not something that the world should neglect, since there are numerous consequences that would happen in this case. One big challenge now is the farmers. Considering a large proportion of farmers went to cities, many farms were left with few workers to handle them, leading to great losses in the agricultural field. For instance, a decline in crop quality levels was inevitable. Another crucial disadvantage of countryside residents moving to cities is the result of new expansions of metropolises. To explain, cities are growing significantly in the present time in order to contain the heavy population. As a result, different farmlands are now replaced with highways or airports, therefore damaging crop production and animal habitats. Also, this massive influx of new city dwellers leads to many big city problems. Overcrowded living conditions, lack of decent housing and dramatic increase in crime are just a few of the consequences. In conclusion, it is clear to see, that the cons of urban migration definately outnumber the positives as the above details have confirmed.