Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both at home and school. To what extent do you agree or disagree? – Disagree -

The importance of some shows on television contributes to effective learning exercises, parents and teachers should inspire toddlers to watch TV to acquire knowledge, which was always been debatable and has now become more controversial with many people claiming that it is beneficial while others reject this notion. In my opinion, there are many more effective techniques available to improve understanding which will be further elaborated in the following paragraphs. Analyzing the statement and explaining further, I partially welcomed this statement and will explain the reasons behind TV could be the medium of learning, numerous programs on Television explain scientific theories and foster visual representation with easy explanations that allow to accelerate learning capacity. For example, TV shows such as, Discovery, National Geographic and History provide practical and theoretical knowledge on a specific topic. Another striking benefit in this regard is that learning foreign languages becomes more effortless by watching a TV, graphical description, clear sound and body gestures of the characters increase proficiency in non-native fluency. Furthermore, there are some pitfalls that negate these arguments and which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of this trend but one of the most alarming ones is that TV sets may harm kids, excessive screen timing leads to blurred vision and a high-frequency sound system can contribute to hearing problems. Besides, over-reliance on TV makes it extremely addictive and children are unable to link their attention to other activities including, outdoor activities, reading and exercise. To recapitulate, according to the arguments and aforementioned, one reaches the conclusion that the drawbacks of guardians and tutors encouraging children to watch TV for academic excellence are dire to ignore. Nevertheless, its potential benefits should not be ignored either.