More and more men are taking maternity leave to look after their newborn children. Why do you think this is happening? Is it a positive or negative development?

In today's era, taking paternity leave for men has become a common thing in society. This is a positive phenomenon because men these days recognize their important roles in the household and want to participate more in taking care of children and their partners. In this essay, I will discuss the reasons and give my opinion on this matter. To begin with, maternity leave is not only for women but also for men. After giving birth, women will enter the postpartum period and need to take time for recovery. In this situation, mostly women are having adversity in taking care of themselves and even their newborn children. Not a few women tend to have distress which leads to baby-blues syndrome, and it affects the women's and children's well-being.. The role of men is crucial in supporting both their partner and children during this situation. Men provide essential physical and emotional support that can help create a balanced and nurturing environment for the family. Moreover, the presence of men in the household can substitute for childcare while their partner takes her time to full recovery, so their partner does not have burn-out and stress at the same time that can lead to severe conditions. Another reason is many countries have introduced paternity leave policies and made it mandatory for men to take time off for their family matters. It is accompanied by companies that support these policies and allow their male workers to be off from work and focus on their families and newborn children. For instance, in Indonesia, there are already paternity leave regulations for men to take care of their family after their partner gives birth. This policy exists to support the importance of men's roles in household and childcare in a crucial postpartum period and to diminish the rate of high baby blues syndrome in women after giving birth. As a result, the number of baby blues syndrome in women went down rapidly and affects the women's and children's well-being. To conclude, men taking paternity leave to take care of their partners and newborn children is crucial during postpartum period. Men's role is needed in providing physical and emotional support for their families.