Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case ? Do you think this is a positive or a negative delvelopment ?

Nowadays, most children are exposed to phones and tablets on a daily basis and this is mainly attributed to the parent's unavailability and reduced outdoor activities. I believe this phenomenon has negative implications for children's development and health. Smartphones are given to young children as a distraction tool when the parents are busy with chores or in public places to reduce the child's activity and disruption. For example, It is common to see a child on an aeroplane who is watching a movie for the whole duration of a flight (3 hours or more) which is against medical advice. Additionally, fewer children are allowed to play outside as neighbourhoods and streets have become less safe in the last few decades for children due to the increased rate of crimes committed against minors (Such as kidnapping and sexual abuse), leading most parents to substitute outdoor activities with watching videos and movies on an electronic device. Prolonged exposure to screens and electronics is harmful to people of all ages, especially to developing youngsters. Medical experts reported that Infants and toddlers below the age of two years should have zero screen time to allow the brain to develop. For offspring above two years, they are permitted a limited screen time that increases as they get older. Furthermore, children who spend long hours on social networks and online games, lack social skills such as speaking in public and forming new friendships. Thus, I believe prolonged screen time is harmful to young people, especially to their mental and social growth. In conclusion, children tend to spend long hours every day on technological devices because some parents want to calm the child or drain his energy. Unfortunately, this trend has negative implications for young minds and their development.