Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Is it a positive or negative trend?

In current society, younger generations have been having a trajectory of using smartphones for hours every day. In my own point of view, I believe that although smartphones bring a lot of benefits, it also comes with detrimental outcomes for children. One of the main factors contributing to this phenomenon is the convenience it brings, especially in education. Most educational systems are introducing an innovation of technology into learning by assigning them homework and lectures online and by requiring them to research online. As a result, smartphones gained its populus as it is considered one of the most accessible and convenient tool for this recent changes. Additionally, phones are also frequently used as a form of entertainment. After a long day of studying, most teenagers are burnt out and seek pleasure as a reward, and that’s when phone comes in. With just a few scrolling and clicks, you are able to play video games, watch reels from Tiktok and binge-watch a TV show which stimulates them and produces the dopamine they wanted. However, content children consume nowadays is extremely overstimulating. For instance, platforms like Tiktok and Youtube Shorts often offer videos that consumers aren’t interested in before granting them the content they normally watch. This simple algorithm is the main contribution of smartphone addiction in younger ages due to how low effort it is for consumers to feel a rush of dopamine. Not only that, some of the contents also involved spreading false perceptions which influences the way children react to different scenarios and their behavior towards other people. This affects them mentally and make every social interaction awkward, which can lead to more severe problems. In conclusion, although smartphones provide a platform for students to learn and a place where they can release stress, many children overlook its drawbacks, leading to a progressive trend of hours spent on phone.