Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion. Thu Ha

In modern society, there are opposite views about how to reduce the number of crimes. While some people believe that a longer prison sentence is the most efficient measure to solve this issue, others feel that government can decrease crime in alternative ways. Two aforementioned views will be discussed in the following paragraphs before presenting my personal perspective in the conclusion. There are many reasons why residents think that giving longer prison sentences to criminals is a good idea against crime. The biggest reason is that this way seems a deterrent which can discourage citizens from breaking the law. When they have the intention to commit crimes, they must think about the punishment which they have to pay, so deviation will be removed from their mind. Furthermore a long imprisonment able to help inmates be aware of their mistakes correctly. For instance, a law offender can get an honest life after a long time behind bars, they will become a different version thanks to the government’s education. On the other hand, I am of the opinion that the figure for cases of law violation will drop because of other ways. In my view, the authority should combine imprisonment form with social duties including farming, and building facilities for the country. This activity will make inmates understand how to work genuinely and bring benefits to the community. Moreover, for serious crimes, the law needs more appropriate punishments than simply imprisonment. For example, the person who commits murder should be enforced capital punishment because if there is humaneness for them, it will be a risk to the public. To sum up, both ideas are effective but I still believe that alternative ways will be better not only for decreasing the number of crimes but also for prohibiting people from doing that.