People are using a lot of online language translation apps. Do the benefits of this outweigh the disadvantages?

The use of web-based language translation applications has increased over the past few years due to globalization. People from all around the world have constant access to mobile phones, which creates an environment for the popularity of language translation apps to continue growing. They are believed to have more benefits than it has it’s downsides. On the one hand, online language translation apps have a number of benefits. First, they create handy solutions to language barriers. People, who had to go to different countries for various reasons, used to face the significant challenge of not having enough language skills to communicate with others. But those problems have instant and quick solutions now that translation applications are available to anyone who is online. Furthermore, people can learn from the applications. In app stores, there are many different applications that anyone can choose to learn a new tongue. For example, Duolingo has millions of daily users who are active, learning new words and grammar for free. On the other hand, the need for language tutors has dropped significantly since language translation apps were introduced. Language training professionals are facing a big problem of not having enough students to continue their sessions. Even though it is crucial for people to learn face-to-face and engage in communication to learn a new tongue, most are starting to prefer those kinds of applications. This ruins a personal interest in learning. In addition, most translation apps have poor accuracy for complex content. For example, if you type in a long paragraph of words to translate, most of the time, it has poor accuracy and produces awkward translations. So language applications are not fully reliable. In conclusion, even though online language translation apps have disadvantages like the decreasing need for language tutors and the reduced interest in mastering new languages efficiently, it has more advantages that are immeasurably beneficial for people who are in a different country or do not want to pay a lot for language knowledge. In the future, as they develop further, they can be hugely beneficial for the community and could permit crucial communications that would make everyday life easier.