According to an international travel magazine, many tourists today fly straight to their holiday resort and almost never leave it. Unlike tourists in the 1960s and ’70s, they return home with no experience of the local culture. Why do you think this happens? How was tourism different in the past? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience.

Tourism has clearly altered over the years. It is said that during the 1960s and 70s, tourists used to know nothing upon returning from their global visits. Conversely, these days tourists are becoming more aware and open towards the visited regions to the extent that they almost refuse to return back to their homelands. This essay will thoroughly explain the reasons behind this phenomenon, highlighting the main differences over the years. First of all, In the past, people did not get the chance to experience the technological evolution that we are witnessing nowadays. The spread of information in a split second thanks to the global networking and the internet, has succeeded in demolishing the barrier of time and zones that used to separate the world. That is why, foreigners did not have the luxury of this vast amount of knowledge within their palms, currently visualized as mobile phones, to search for various places to visit and explore in no time like we are used to right now. For instance, social media has particularly played a major role in encouraging us to take a leap and follow trusted bloggers in their journeys and trips around the world, after viewing their unbiased reviews, related to countries' expenses, recommended resorts or even street food. Secondly, an extremely significant factor that drove our grandparents' sense of directionality on where to go, or what to do, is safety. And nowadays, almost every corner of the world has been scanned and visited by many. This can return to the globalization, spread of flying and travel agencies. For instance, booking a flight used to be a big deal back in the day. On the contrary, it is becoming as simple as getting a metro ticket. Not to mention the flight amenities that contribute in the overall accessibility of the travel experience. In conclusion, Tourism has quite developed in the past five decades, which made people more open and aware of what they have experienced during their travels. In my opinion, the global networking and the internet have shifted the humans' perspectives and how they view the world. Not to mention today's conventional flights that boosted our courage in a way or another.