More and more people are finding it increasingly important to wear fashionable clothes. Is this attitude to wearing clothes a positive development or negative?

It is true that significantly more people are trying to look more fashionable nowadays. Although I understand the positive sides of this trend, I consider that it is negative in general. A sizable share of citizens is following the newest fashion trends, which help them to look stylish. This, in turn, can boost their confidence and attractiveness. For example, quite often people acquire new fashionable attire to wear during their interviews as they think that new formal clothes might make them feel smarter. This strategy might increase people's belief in themselves resulting in being more successful in their life paths. Therefore, the benefits of new fashionable clothes cannot be unnoticed. However, buying tonnes of unnecessary clothes has caused a great increase in waste across the globe. This is because sometimes we buy a desirable piece of clothing not because we need it, but because we want to stick to modern fashionable trends, trying to get rid of what we have at the moment, even if these dresses or pants are still suitable for wearing them. This overuse of new goods leads to many ecological issues. The recent research published in the Times broadsheet has reported that carbon emissions have increased by 30% in the last decades as a result of citizens buying too many clothes. Hence, the drawbacks of modern trends outweigh their positive effects and if we do not look carefully at what we have at home, we will not be able to prevent natural disasters in the future. In conclusion, despite some benefits of today's people's attitude associated with fashionable clothes, I am convinced that the negative consequences of it are more serious.