Some people say patriotism causes problems and is negative overall. Others feel that it is beneficial for society at large. Do the advantages of patriotism outweight its disadvantages?

Patriotism is a feeling that is etched in every individual's heart towards their country. Besides, nowadays we can see that the views of the community regarding loyalty are dwindling and it's taking the form of something more dangerous. I personally believe that in this case, the cons outperform the pros. However, public spirit nowadays is mixed up with politics and the consequences for the same are inevitable. In addition, some areas witness a bunch of crowd forming groups who claim themselves to be patriots, but their actions convey something else. For instance, these groups fight against injustice by killing people, burning down their houses etc, if they do not come in support of their beliefs. As a result, this has an overall negative impact on the young generation. On the other hand, nationalism can be expressed by joining the army, naval or air battalions. Individuals who want to do something for the nation can join these forces which not only is beneficial for the nation but also protects the population from any kind of danger. In conclusion, as the disadvantages have more contribution it outweighs the advantages. Moreover, I personally support the belief that public should not take advantage of flag-waving and use it in such a way which can not be quite fascinating for others.