Some people believe that housing is a basic human right for all individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, the issue of housing has sparked considerable debate. Some individuals assert that housing is a fundamental right for people, as food and clothes are. I firmly agree with this viewpoint, and this essay will discuss the growth of the population and the need for housing to support my perspective. Firstly, the unstoppable growth of the population led to the expansion of housing. To meet the necessity for shelter, more trees are being cut down, and land is being cleared for constructing more houses, which is resulting in the loss of houses for thousands of living species and damage to the ecosystem. People are also struggling to find a place to survive. For instance, in India, the volume of population is escalating at an alarming rate and more space is being cleared for providing living places. Moreover, youngsters started to live apart from their families and give priority to purchasing their own homes, like birds leaving their nests, which is also increasing the need for more accommodation. Several migrants are also seeking places in other parts of the world or looking to make their family in the long run or establish their own business, owing to that they also have the desire to hold homeownership. Every single person has their own preference for buying their home, same as buying food and clothing and it is a human behaviour, which cannot be targeted. In conclusion, a home is a basic requirement due to human nature to have homeownership and to meet the demands of a rising population.