In many countries, people are now living longer than ever before. Some people say an ageing population creates problems for governments. Other people think there are benefits if society has more elderly people. To what extent do the advantages of having an ageing population outweigh the disadvantages?

Some contend that the growing population of elderly people imposes burdens on governments' shoulders, while others believe that this demographic growth is far more beneficial in the face of its downturns. Although this phenomenon comes with its fair share of benefits, I have an inclination towards the former perspective. The higher number of elderly people offers benefits at both society and family levels. Elderly people are great sources of experience and knowledge. It is believed that their wisdom can be used in socioeconomic decisions in order to prevent repetitive errors. For instance, the knowledge and experience of an old person who lived during the Second World War can be used in order to address conflicts in their primary stages and prevent devastating consequences. Secondly, grandparents are a great help to working parents. In today's society, where parents spend most of their sociable hours in professional settings, having a reliable source to take care of their beloved children has a positive impact on both parents and their children's well-being. By alleviating stress levels and childcare concerns among parents and offering thorough care through which meaningful relationships can be built between grandparents and grandchildren, elderly people's presence provide invaluable advantages. However, the ever-growing population of this specific demographic not only imposes a further burden on the healthcare system but also endangers the society's economy. Old people have weak immunity systems and are more susceptible to diseases. As a result, they pay more visits to doctors and healthcare systems. For instance, polypharmacy and exorbitant prices of annual vaccinations are common problems that old citizens bring about. Furthermore, these retired citizens can have negative impacts on the economy. These people are usually unable to work efficiently at older ages and are asked to leave professional settings. Therefore, a growing population of this group presents a workforce shortage for industries, ultimately paralyzing the society's economy. Additionally, providing monthly pensions for elderly people is associated with higher taxes and more pressure on lucrative individuals. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that aging populations bring about problems that outweigh the advantages.