Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rather than to work for a company or organisagtion. Why might this be the case? What could be the disadvantages of being self-employed? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge orexperience.

Some individuals prefer to become freelancers, rather than to do regular office job. This is because working for a company is a waste of time since it usually repeats the same routine every day. However, many also think that freelancing is not the best choice in terms of building wealth because of the unstable income. A traditional job requires you to commute every day because the workplace is located in the business district which is usually far from residential areas. This routine may become a hassle for some people as they need to spare some time in transportation. For instance, people living in satellite cities are required to depart 2 hours before the start of their working hour just to arrive on time. Although 2 hours might seem like a small number, some individuals think that they could have use it for personal development or family time. While freelancing could give people more freedom in terms of time, being self-employed could possess a risk to their financials. Due to the nature of freelancing itself which is project-based, there might be times when they were not having clients. In this case, good money management is required for them to survive. For example, when a global pandemic happened in 2019, the economy of several countries collapsed and many businesses were bankrupt, as a result it was became harder to find a regular job, even more a freelance project. In conclusion, while self-employment offers flexibility compared to conventional jobs, it also comes with financial uncertainty. People should consider the good and bad when it comes to choosing what kind of work they want and develop the ability to handle the challenges that might come.