Countries with a long average working time are more economically successful, but they are also likely to suffer from negative social consequences. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

The past 50 years have seen a dramatic increase in the number of hours people spend at work. Despite the undeniable economic prosperity prolonged working time has brought to many involved nations, some people argue that this trend has negatively affected workers ' social lives. Partially agreeing with this assertion, I believe that workers are experiencing a quality societal life. Undeniably, increased work time intensifies isolation among occupants. Spending a significant amount of daily time from eight to five at work and also subtracting a standard of 8 hours for sleep time, there remains a lower free time for other activities such as dining, showering, working out and socializing with family and friends. Of these activities, workers usually sacrifice socializing for other mentioned vital issues, resulting in paled relationships. Continuing this trend, therefore, can cause the loss of friends and a lack of socialization, which would lead to depression, loneliness and unsocial behaviours. Nevertheless, these limited social relationships could be compensated by increased connections at work. The more people work, the broader become knowledge and experiences, enabling workers to extend their professional cycle and make new links with workers of the same or related positions from all over the world. Furthermore, having to spend long hours at work and dealing with colleagues of diverse cultures and personalities develop adaptability and resilience, essential for extensive social relations. For instance, working days and nights for three years qualified me to receive a job offer in 2019, from a well-known company in Germany, which made me acquainted with individuals of mutual professional interests contributing to my professional and social progress. So, rather than judging these changes as an adverse development, we should view them as an opportunity to make progress. In conclusion, the benefits of prolonged work time far outweigh the drawbacks. It might negatively impact old relations, nonetheless, it has the capability to create widespread connections as well as enhance occupational progress.