Some people say that the main environmental problem of our time is the loss of particular species of plants and animals. others say that there are more important environmental problems. Discuss both these views and give your opinion

The extinction of some species of plants and animals indeed one of the important environmental problems we have been facing in the past century. However, I believe there is a more fundamental issue that needs to be resolved. This other issue, in my opinion, are also causing lots of other dilemma, without exception, the lost of some living species in planet earth. None disagrees that protecting certain species is crucial as living creatures are intercorrelated in an ecosystem in which one absence can put the whole system imbalance. One species could be a source of food for another, if one becomes unavailable, the predator will be edangered. In addition, a plant can be a shelter for many kind of species such as birds, mammals, and even insects. Preserving one species is meant to ensure others will not be threatened. However, before we consider ways to preserve certain species, it is more critical to address wider issues like global warming, in which, I think, is one of the root cause of a plethora of environmental problems. There are several activities that drive this phenomenon including rapid deforestation and the unsustainable way of use of fossil fuels. Therefore, humans need to find alternatives for these affairs. Addressing these aspects will bring broader impact to the planet such as improving the air qualty, maintaining the comfortable average temperature, and returning homes for many species through reforestation. Moreover, these efforts could help to prevent the ice-land like the poles from melting, resulting in the protection of the homes of living creatures in that certain areas. In conclusion, preserving specific species is undoubtly important, but global warming is the issue we need to slove in the bigger picture. Taking care of this problem is the first step we need to take, as protecting endangered species will become more favorable throughout the process.