It is becoming increasingly popular to have a year off between finishing school and going to to university . what are the advantages and disadvantages of this ?

In recent times taking a year off after schooling and before joining a university is becoming quite famous. Although it has it come with own benefits and demerits.In my opinion demerits overweight the benefits. On the one hand, the merits of students having a 12-month break between their formal education is that they find time to assimilate knowledge about their personal interests. In addition, they get enough period to decide on the future and courses which interest them in their higher education. For instance,ample of students who graduate from school do not have any prior knowledge of the various courses the university offers and curricula they are best suited to, as a result, they might make a wrong decision which affects their future. On the other hand, challenges faced by school graduates having a twelve-month period gap as they will not be able to sit with their age pupils at the beginning of their under graduation. Furthermore, they will face consequences as they face hefty competition when they want to begin to search for a job. As they are in line with already existing competitors. For example, if we look into 2024 university passouts they are applying for the same market as 2023 graduates who have not yet placed in any company. To conclude, Having a four-season break before admitting into college and right after graduating from school has its own merits as one can find a chance to learn about personal interests and so on, but it has its challenges as competition grows. Generally speaking,a year gap will always negatively affect their career.