Many people support use of animals for testing medicines for humans. Others believe it is not appropriate to use animals for such experiments. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There is no denying the fact that animal rights should be respected. While it is a commonly held belief that using animals rather than humans in medical discoveries can improve our knowledge and save our lives, there is also an argument that it is not fair to kill them for such experiments. This essay will analyse this topic from both points of view and express my opinion.       On the one hand, it is necessary to do medical tests on new drugs with reducing the risks to humans, so animal testing helps to advance medical and scientific knowledge breakthroughs. In other words, many important medical discoveries involved experimentation on animals. In addition, some medical or scientific experiments simply can not be done on humans. For example, Testing for the cosmetics industry is now banned in many countries. Also, some experiments aim to minimize the suffering that animals face and cure them from diseases. On the other hand, it is unnecessary to kill them to discover. It is also possible to say that, their lives should be respected. Humans have no moral right to do experiments on animal. Moreover, there are alternative methods of research. For instance, computer simulation can be used in most cases. Finally, the benefits of research using animals do not justify the suffering caused, So it is cruel if it is just done to publish papers. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that it is a kind of selfish to kill animals to remain human.