Nowadays culture is much the same all around the world when compared to previous times. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is true that cultural traditions are similar all over the world when compared to the past. Although I understand some positive sides of this trend, I consider that it is rather a negative development. In the modern world, the world population inherits the culture of other nations, which might improve people's relationships. As a result of immigration, the major cities such as London or New York accomodate inhabitants from all over the globe. For instance, approximately 70% of London's citizens are overseas people. They work together and have to spend much time together. The cultural differences might deter them from the developing of their friendship. As a result, people started to get to know the cultural traditions of each other, spending more times together or even become couples. This situation have a positive impact on common life. However, nowadays, as a result of globalisation, people have started to share the customs and traditions of foreign countries, which might be a threat to the main values of nations or particular groups of people. Everyone starts to celebrate the same holidays which are not typical for them. Take Christmas, for example. This holiday used to be the most significant celebration for all Christians in the past, while in the modern world all religious groups are starting to celebrate it in the different way, distorting it. If before everything was dedicated to Jesus Crist, today this day has received a commercial purpose, with hordes of people using thousands of pounds for presents rather that spending more time to pray in a church or at home. In conclusion, I take the view that sharing cultural traditions between nationalities or religious groups might destroy their core values.