Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to gibe longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views

In recent years, the crime ratio has been increasing significantly, making it a widely argued topic and because of that, many people say that to reduce the number of crimes we should increase the prisoner period in jail. Others, however, believe that there are many other options to decrease the violence ratio. This essay will discuss both sides and elaborate on why governments should find better solutions. First and foremost, being involved in a crime does not mean that you deserve a very long duration in jail. In other words, some people get arrested due to the possibility of some evidence rather than proven circumstances, and this makes it unfair for some prisoners to get extended periods in jail. Moreover, even if the criminal did what he is accused of, we should be more forgiving and merciful, if they showed a better attitude during the jail period. This way will help to establish a stronger community with good citizens. Therefore, a longer prison sentence is not an effective solution for lowering the crime ratio. On the other hand, one viable solution is to educate prisoners about the long-term consequences of their behaviours not only their families will suffer from social anxiety, but their sons will also face many life challenges starting from a weak mentality to being more vulnerable to others sort of violence, because parents usually responsible for providing both physical and mental supports. For instance, a study conducted by Jazan University claimed that prisoners' offspring students had lower physical strength and weaker mentality than other pupils. Thus, when arrested people fully understand what their families and sons are vulnerable to, and they will develop better attitudes to preserve parents' and sons ' dignity. In conclusion, while a long period in jail would not help in reducing the crime ratio, a better alternative is to provide information about what their actions would lead to, since many of them are not aware of what sons and parents will face.