Nowadays,a growing number of peoples with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

In recent years, there has been a new trend by many individuals toward taking treatments from alternative medicines rather than visiting hospitals and doctors. This essay is written to firmly stay with that it is not healthy for society to get treatments through alternative medicines and we should stick to visiting physicians because of the accurate diagnosis and appropriate treatment plans. First and foremost, one of the biggest cons of alternative medicines is the reliance on symptoms without taking further investigations such as x-rays and laboratory measurements, while hospitals heavily emphasise the need for full investigations before delivering any sort of interventions. Moreover, wrong diagnosis means wrong treatment, so the possibility of the exacerbation of the illnesses is highly possible with alternative medicines. For example, a study published by King Fahad Hospital claimed that people who use traditional old treatments are at high risk of getting chronic diseases like Hypertension and Diabetes Mellitus. Therefore, it is crucial for all individuals to visit doctors to get the correct treatment. Secondly, another downside of alternative medicines is the lack of a professional career and extensive training, since pupils at medical colleges undergo about 5 to 7 years to study the symptoms of any disease and compare them to other illnesses. In other words, supervised training from senior professors is more relevant to developing accurate diagnosis and proper treatment. Thus, we should not let the effort of medical students and all of the government budget that is used to develop a healthy community go in vain. In conclusion, while alternative medicine treatments are mostly inappropriate the need to avoid them is highly recommended, since doctors and medical students along with the government trying their best to provide a healthy society.