2nd - Big companies should provide social and sports facilities for local communities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally believed that corporations can not merely contribute to society through taxes they pay but also develop public facilities such as sports fields and community services. I firmly agree with this opinion for a variety of reasons, some of which will be addressed in this essay. One of the most compelling reasons why providing amenities for local people should be a concern for big companies is that they play a vital role in companies’ credibility. Engaging in local community activities strengthens their reputation in public and enhances companies’ profit. For instance, one of the renowned factories, PT Sampoerna, built clean water and sanitation facilities for rural villages and established an educational foundation as a part of community services. As a result, they easily expand branch factories in several locations without hardly being accepted by surrounding households since they believe they will be responsible as well as bring well-being to them. Furthermore, when massive corporations build facilities for the public, they can help governments to decrease unemployment rates for countries. Public facilities like libraries, sports arenas, or parks offer job opportunities to take care of these places. In fact, a survey has shown that the development of public amenities by private absorbed 52% of the workforce around it, which directly contributes to societies’ welfare. This demonstrates that the involvement of big companies in providing essential facilities for surroundings is beneficial for all parties. In conclusion, while various ways contribute to companies’ success, providing public facilities for local communities should remain a primary plan, as they foster credibility, profits, and support for communities’ well-being.