The number of people interested in cosmetic surgery is increasing in order to improve their physical appearance. Why do people do operations to change the way they look? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that nowadays, the popularity of surgeries for changing and improving people's physical appearance is increasing steadily. In this essay, I will explain one of the factors which might cause this situation and go on to explain why I consider that it is a negative phenomenon. The popularity of plastic surgery has developed significantly as a result of fashion trends in modern society. As a consequence of widespread use of the internet, many people are trying to follow Instagram bloggers or celebrities who advertise such services as changing their body parts in order to become more attractive. For example, many of those overcoming lip or chest surgery promote these services in order to receive more income from clinics that provide them. As a result, subscribers who trust the perfect pictures from social platforms follow their behaviour. Therefore, considerably more citizens, especially women, turn to surgeries. However, I take the view that this development has a negative influence on people's lives as today's standards of beauty are not accessible to everyone. This is because high-quality surgeries might cost an arm and a leg because of the high price of used materials, which is not accessible to all of those who are willing to change their appearance. This might lead young women and girls to cheaper options, which are not durable and might distort them. For instance, the recent research published by The Times broadsheet has reported that 70% of plastic surgeries carried out by one unexperienced doctor in the USA were unsuccessful and traumatised plenty of his patients. Hence, if people are trying to economise, it can cause many irreversible negative consequences. In conclusion, the increasing number of cosmetic surgeries is rising nowadays as a result of modern fashion trends, which is highly negative as not everyone can afford to spend a huge amount of money for this purpose.