Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present. Discuss both viewpoints and give your opinion.

It is argued whether history is useless or helpful to understand the present. This essay will examine both opinions and conclude that learning history helps us understand the current situation. Studying the past could be of no or little use for several reasons. One of the main viewpoints is that it does not seem very relevant to our daily lives. For those who are more keen to playing games or cooking great dinners, for example, learning about the past might not make a difference in their interests. Another reason is that often times, learning history at school focuses on memorizing the complicated names of historical figures or specific years of historical events rather than the ideas of philosophy behind the scenes. Having superficial knowledge will not be useful in understanding the present circumstances but rather it just makes the subject boring and a waste of time. However, history can be enormously important when figuring out what to do for the better future and understanding why our society behaves in certain ways. For instance, think about how the humans in the era of World War II ended up fighting each other and killing millions of people. Today we still witness wars outbreaking on the other side of the world. When you learn how people in the past should have avoided those miserable and horrific outcomes, we might be able to change the path of our future for the better. In conclusion, history is essential to understand and navigate the present by applying what had happened in similar situations in the past and making the most of the lessons we learnt from it, while some people don't pay much attention to outside of their day-to-day lives.