In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In Britain, mostly when individuals are of an old age, they usually start living in old age homes, where they can get care from nurses. It is believed that the authorities have to pay for this care. I think it is a shared responsibility of the family and the government. Both play a crucial role in it. Firstly, the government has the primary onus to pay for old people's treatment. Since individuals pay revenue to the authorities throughout their lives in the form of different taxes—they spend half of their salaries on the government for the betterment of the country— this is the main reason government should take care of senior citizens. Additionally, the government has the responsibility to provide pensions to old- age individuals. Individuals usually feel more dependent on the government when they are at their later ages. Therefore, the government ought to spend money on old age homes. However, the family plays an essential role in it as well. Primarily, parents invest their entire lives in their children's lives, which makes the children responsible toward their parents in old age. Moreover, old people feel more secure when their families give them care. Secondly, some old people's families are capable of paying the bills for them. In this situation, they need to take responsibility themselves instead of depending on the government. For instance, I have experienced one incident where an old person needed support from his family instead of getting help from the government. He had enough funds to get treatment, which is helpful for the government to support the people who are in need. Thus, family assistance is of utmost importance for senior citizens. In conclusion, even though the government should assist old people in getting treatment, the family also plays a crucial role in this regard. It all depends on the circumstances of the old people.