Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There is an ongoing interest in the essence of multilingualism. Many argue that people master foreign languages only for travelling or working purposes while others claim that there are different reasons. I believe that someone can also learn a new language for a social relationship. I will analyze both sides of the consideration, supported with relevant examples. First, people acquire the skill to speak the native language of their proposed tourist destinations because it enhances their travel experience. To buttress this, during a visit to a new place, it is often a hassle communicating with the locals and navigating this unfamiliar environment. However, learning it beforehand facilitates communication with the indigenous. The visitor can easily ask for directions, order meals and make the most of his trip. For example, a tourist to France needs to learn basic French. This is to communicate well with the residents. It will make the journey enjoyable and help him connect with the residents he meets on a deeper level. Furthermore, I believe individuals become proficient in foreign languages to enable social development and relationships. That is, an individual can go through the challenge of acquiring this skill to strengthen contact with friends, families or even a romantic partner. Despite sharing a common language like English, they master a partner’s mother tongue. This leaves a sense of acceptance and fosters a deeper bond between them. For instance, in an interracial marriage between a British man and a southeastern Nigerian lady. Whilst commonly speaking English, the man often aims to learn Igbo which is his partner’s native dialect, promoting the interrelationship between him and his in-laws. In conclusion, with the increase in bilingual skills, most people have linked this to just tour or work purposes. I believe there are other crucial reasons such as a means to strengthen social relationships with friends and families.