We no longer need to have animals kept in zoos, so zoos should be closed. Do you agree or disagree?

The idea of closing down the zoos because the animals should live in their own habitats and be free has always been a topic to debate. According to the work that is done in them, apart from being merely classified as a way of entertainment for people by many, I think we should definitely keep them. They are a fantastic educational resource for children. Most of the zoos offer extraordinary programs to be developed either at the schools or onsite. Teachers can have access to materials especially prepared for young people. For instance, both Sydney Zoo and Taronga Zoo in the city have come up with excellent school programs. By attending them the students are able to learn about the huge variety of species that can be found in the world. But also, focusing on endangered animals, the pupils will realise how harmful humans are sometimes to the environment relating the global warming problem to the extinction of some animals. On the other hand, some zoos have hospitals within their premises where they treat animals that have been rescued. Specialised teams are hired to take car of injured animals brought many times by members of the local community. The aim is usually to reintegrate those animals in their own habitat. However, the zoos sometimes decide to keep them in captivity in order to preserve a specific type of species. In conclusion, zoos are a magnificent resource that we should keep. Not only because they work towards the conservation of animals, but also because they teach future generations on feasible ways to preserve life on our planet.