Prevention is better than cure” Out of a country’s health budget, a large proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and prevention measures. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Prevention of disease is believed to be more advantageous than treatment. For this reason, a large portion of the health budget should be spent on prevention measures rather than remedies. This essay completely acknowledges that and prefers investment in health education and protective action to medical interventions. The details will be explained in the following paragraphs. Firstly, allocating a significant portion of healthcare finance to Preemptive strategies results in diminishing illness and disease, and as a result heavy expenditure on therapy will be minimized. That is to say, by enhancing preventive plans such as vaccination and screening for early detection of disease, governments or individuals can tackle potential health problems. For example, in 2022, it was reported in the New York Times that 70 percent of Japanese never got COVID-19 because they had been vaccinated at the beginning of the pandemic which resulted in reduced medical fees. Secondly, investing in health education can empower people to make informed decisions about their health so they can adopt healthier lifestyles like healthy diets, and avoid harmful habits like smoking and excessive alcohol consumption. Hence, people can take preemptive steps to prevent the onset of health issues such as diabetes and obesity. For instance, a report published in the Washington Post in 2024 revealed that approximately 80 percent of Italians had a good health condition because they were aware of wellness challenges. To conclude, this essay supports that investment in prevention action and health information is more important than cure owing to decreasing treatment costs and improving overall public health outcomes. Therefore, the more protective strategies increase, the more population health increases.