Some people think that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some people argue that it is better to give longer custodial sentences to avoid more crimes, while others think that better ways can be found to solve this problem. This essay will discuss both perspectives and show that in my view of point making stronger social protection will reduce the number of crimes. The longer prison sentences allow to keep criminals in one place and do not let them hurt the public again. For example, the thief who has stolen money and killed people will not be able to go outside anymore. However, there are other thieves who are still outside and are able to commit the same misdeed. The alternative way can include better public protection. That means the government is able to tighten the law or armey that will protect people and prevent crimes. Because it is better to avert deaths or steal items than punish criminals after they already disserved somebody. For instance, detaining a killer before he kills or hurt someone will be beneficial for society because no one will suffer. To conclude, giving more custodial sentences to offenders will prevent them from committing the crime by the same person again, on the other hand, i think that stricter low and armey is the better alternative to solve this problem since it will help to prevent overall crimes.