The increasing frequency of satellite launches and space debris is becoming a threat to the Earth. What are the main causes? What measures can be taken to address this?

Nowadays, more and more physical bodies are sent to the space area. Some argue whether is is harmful to the Earth. In this essay, I will elaborate on the causes of this phenomenon and provide some variables that may be useful to measure this. To begin with, there are multiple reasons for sending satellites. Firstly, It enables Earth observation and scientific research. For instance, to monitor climate change, track weather patterns, and study natural disasters to better understand and protect our planet. Because we continue to learn more and more, the number of foreign objects in the Cosmos increases. Secondly, they play a crucial role in global communication and navigation. Namely, they allow to stay in touch with people from all around the world, as well as, tracking location through GPS. Consequently, we are living in the globalization era, having access to information from all around the world. Furthermore, there are several causes of increasing space debris. To begin with, many objects, that are not in use anymore, stay in the space. Additionally, accidental collisions or the breakup of old satellites and rocket stages generate thousands of fragments. Moreover, some countries conduct missile tests that destroy satellites. Consequently, we are not able to measure how much of the litter we already produced in the universe. To conclude, while satellites provide significant benefits in scientific research, communication, and navigation, they also contribute to the growing issue of space debris. If we do not take action to manage this problem, the accumulation of defunct satellites, accidental collisions, and destructive missile tests will continue to threaten the sustainability of space exploration. Therefore, it is essential to implement better space traffic management, develop debris removal technologies, and establish international regulations to minimize the negative impact.