The government is spending a lot of money discovering life on other planets. Some people think that governments are wasting money and should spend more money addressing the problems of the public. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are frequent discussions going on about the utilization of Government resources.Many believe that, the governments are spending unnecessary funds to explore other planets, while neglecting the actual needs and issues of the public. To a partial extent, I agree with this statement as it is significant to address the current social problems, however, one cannot unsee the importance of discovering a new planet that capable of being a new habitat. On the one hand, the present public concerns have to be addressed  first-hand, hence it is the government's duty to provide a better environment for the people. Social issues, like poverty, climate change and health crisis are need to eliminated from  society to create a better environment. Therefore, the government should make plans to eradicate these hazardous problems that can make the Earth uninhabitable, rather than commence with the abandoned plans of Earth. For instance, financial support to the healthcare field can assist in improving the quality of life for the community. Not only that, but practical measures to ensure the ceasing of climate change can help to increase the lifespan of the Earth. For instance, the widespread availability of renewable energy can help  people to shift from fossil fuel use. Therefore, it is important to focus on present issues of society, before focusing on the distant future. On the other hand, the current state affairs of the Earth are controversial. Consequences of prolonged exploitation of the resources of the habitat have caused  strong distress among the governments  led them to fund more into the future of mankind. According to many studies, the Earth's lifespan is questionable with the existing scenarios, and many species have gone extinct in recent decades. Therefore, the governments and the other officials are forced to provide financial aid which can support researchers with advanced technologies and instruments for a sustainable future. In conclusion, the above-mentioned points justify my viewpoint. Although, it is essential to explore and eliminate current public issues, like climate change, it is also significant to find an alternative to the Earth, considering the existing inferior status of the habitat. A balanced approach to  the government's resources on both the present and future environment can help to mitigate the public's disinterest in this matter.