In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Driverless automation is expected to revolutionize transportation, affecting private, public, and logistics vehicles. While many believe it will be a groundbreaking innovation, I argue that significant challenges must be addressed before it can be considered truly beneficial. On the other hand, despite the potential benefits, driverless automation presents significant risks. The lack of regulation provided by authorities inhibits the increase of public perception and also the willingness for public to try and accept it as common vehicular mechanics. The lack of sufficient law on this mechanics will also bring ethical complications, as to who would be responsible if an accident happened on a self-driving car. Moreover, this type of car is also prone to network attacks and computational failure due to the large distribution of computer operations. Some cybersecurity protocols and measures need to be well developed. Additionally, developing driverless vehicles will divert us from many more substantial traffic issues at hand, such as traffic congestion. Problems of congestion don't reflect on the lack of driving skills found in today’s bus drivers in matching the timetable and adjusting route flexibility, but the dire need for accessible and inclusive public transportation and first/ last -mile connectivity. In one particular city, for example, providing an autonomous bus will only serve public with another leisurely transit option compared to a rapid public mover that will address the issue. By investing more in such a small-scale robotaxi/bus transport mode, a city could lose its opportunities to maximise its economic potential by overlooking more cost-effective and efficient alternatives. In conclusion, developments and proof-of-concepts of autonomous driving systems on various types of vehicles can always continue on a small scale, such as extended testing that is carried out currently in various countries like Singapore, Hungary, and the United States. Full-wide implementation of this new automation in future requires careful attention from industries, crowd, and governments alike.