overfishing of the world's oceans threatens many species with extinction and is putting the livelihood of millions of people around the world at risk. what are the causes of this problem and what can be done to prevent it from happening?

Fish has long been considered as the major food supply for humans. This has brought a noticeable reduction in the number of fish in the ocean and some fish species have even gone extinct because people have overused this resource so much. This essay will examine the causes involved in fish reduction and extinction, and provide effective and practical solutions to combat the problems caused. There are numerous causes that can put the level of fish at risk. One of the most significant factors is the increased demand for fish as food supply as a result of the growth in population, leading to high demand for food supply including meat, vegetables and especially fish. On top of this, a huge number of companies use harmful methods in order to meet this high requirement for fish. Furthermore, fish are severely endangered on account of illegal fishing. This involves in using explosive substances, electricity to harvest more fish; and fishing during the reproductive season of fish, leading to a massive reduction in fish eggs that will ultimately become adult fish. However, there are some effective measures that can be taken to prevent more loss in fish numbers. Firstly, it is recommended to reduce the global population by having more people educated about birth control and having a strict rule regarding the number of babies each family can have. Secondly, it is speculated to be practical if an expensive tax is put on fish as it can reduce fishing companies’ interest. Last but not least, strict laws regarding the ways people use to fish should be implemented and enforced. To conclude, it is clearly seen that fish levels are in danger due to demand for fish increases and illegal fishing isn’t kept in check. If the solutions discussed in this essay are put into practice, I am confident that fish will have the opportunity to repopulate and won’t meet extinction.