The increase in the production of consumer goods results in damage to the natural environment. What are the causes of this? What can be done to solve this problem?

The production of consumer products around the world has been increasing rapidly in the last few years than ever before. As a result, the waste of consumer goods pollutes our natural environment, hence some serious actions need to be taken immediately to solve this problem. To begin with, the world’s population has increases dramatically in the last few years,, which leads to raising demand of various products to meet their daily live needs. In developing countries such as Indonesia, deforestation became prevalent by cutting trees for farmland and to exploit wood used to produce furnitures and materials to construct homes. Consequently, the massive amount of trees loss resulted to natural disaster, for example floods and landslides because the root function to retain massive amount of water in the ground had been no longer exist. At the end of 2024, severe damage floods occurred in Sumatera Island due to intense deforestation during the last 30 years, which caused loss lives and livelihoods for the residents. Furthermore, high demand of consumer goods to be used in daily consumption trigger by consumerism. Every single day, we use products made from plastics, and this material is undegradable substances for hundred of years. The best viable solution to tackle this problem is by giving education to societies about the dangers of deforestation because by doing so, their awareness will raise and this step expected reduces the number of trees loss. In addition, the governments should encourage citizens to reduce the usage of plastic products and promotes recycle materials in their daily lives. For instance, in department stores around Indonesia, they are no longer provides plastic bags to carry products they purchase, but paper bags which is considered degradable and do not pollute the environment. In conclusion, I contend that rapid population growth and consumerism has lead to high demand of consumer goods. But I believe that the governments has crucial role to educate societies regarding the danger of deforestation and encourage them to use recycled materials in their daily lives.