It is observed that in many contries, not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are the causes? What will be the effects on society?

In recent years, science education has become a pressing concern as it significantly affects choice among subjects and requires immediate attention. This essay will explore the main reasons behind not studying science curricula and propose effective solutions to address this issue. There are several key reasons why opting for different streams of study in science has emerged as a significant issue. One primary cause is the availability of other subjects such as English, mathematics, economics and social studies, which has given the opportunities to students for becoming more specialised in only one stream. For instance, scholars who are pursuing their studies in mathematics and economics have a wider scope for working in any field, either in teaching or in business. Another major cause is less interest in studying science because some students find science a boring subject and are always looking for alternatives available. To tackle this issue, several effective solutions can be implemented. One potential solution is to make science more interesting for students by adding some practical exercises rather than the whole focus on theoretical knowledge. For example, it is the responsibility of the school authorities to establish a strong background for students in the early years of their studies so that they can develop their interests with time. Another potential solution is to fund the study of science in colleges or schools. The higher authorities need to provide financial assistance to the educators for reserving their seats in that particular field. In conclusion, not choosing science subjects stems from less interest, and the wider scope of other options has led to the rise of other sectors.