It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science as a subject. What are the causes? And what will be the effects on society? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays, many countries face the challenge of reducing the number of students who want to become scientists. This phenomenon is caused by several reasons, which have negative effects on society. In this essay, I will discuss the causes and effects on people in certain countries. There are several reasons students oppose studying sciences and prefer other subjects such as music and culinary. Learning sciences is often considered difficult and reserved for genius students. Other than that, sciences require a specific school to attend, more time to practice, and a high cost for practice and research, which people think is not worth it compared to other subjects which are easier. For example, based on a survey provided by the University of Australia, they found that the majority of students in 2020 chose the culinary subject, then sciences, because to upgrade their skills, they just attend a certification place, meanwhile, if they take sciences subject, they have to take master degree and extend to PhD level. The decreasing level of students taking sciences as their subject will affect negativity in society in the future. The minimum number of science students and their lack of competence produce the worst research in their country, and they cannot create new sciences and are stuck. Moreover, they will need another competent scientist from other countries to help their research. For example, In Indonesia, against the COVID-19 virus spread, because of the lack of their scientific knowledge they can not create their vaccines and choose to buy from Russia, which is expensive and less efficient. In conclusion, many countries have problems with lower levels of students who want to learn sciences. Students believe that sciences require more time and practice compared to other subjects. However, it will have negative effects on the development of science in countries in the future.