Many people are afraid to leave their homes because of the fear of crime. Why do you think people are so fearful these days? Do the merits of such a cautions approach outweigh the demerits.

It has been observed that in the wake of burgeoning crimes nowadays a number of individuals are scared to step out of their houses. Many reasons are behind this doubt of the crowd. From my perspective, the demerits of this development surely outweigh the merits, which will be discussed in the upcoming paragraphs. Among all of the factors accountable for rendering the community fearful, even, in their surroundings, the prominent is the media. In an attempt to make citizens aware of the miscreants, somewhere, they are frightening them with the presenting of the news in an extreme manner. For instance, various news channels often broadcast offence-related news in an aggressive way like showing the mess created by offenders and injured victims in burglaries as dramatic scenes, which, in turn, affect the spectators so badly that they begin to feel unsafe in their vicinity. One evident benefit of this approach is that the public remains alert when they step out in public places. Undoubtedly, it is quite difficult these days to trust any stranger, especially during travelling alone. Therefore, being suspicious in public areas, one may be able to point out an offender quickly and consequently, report to the police officials. In this way, future mishappening might be stopped before occurring, which may prove beneficial in curbing the offences as well. However, by remaining fearful all the time, the family would not be able to make appropriate decisions about others. Owing to this, under the wrong suspicions, not only they would malign the image of an innocent person, but also the crucial time of police authorities can be wasted. Yet another demerit of this aspect is that with afraid every time can be detrimental to the mental health of the citizens. This is primarily the fact that such an approach can prove disadvantageous for the community in case of being confined indoors due to the anxiety of criminals. As a result, they begin to view, even, their close ones in suspicion because of being engulfed by the stress of miscreants. To conclude although alarm about crime brings awareness in individuals about the offences committed, still I believe that it has more demerits in terms of mental health and spreading wrong information in a society, which certainly needs to be stopped, specifically by the media, who has a huge role in creating this apprehension in the minds of nation.