Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some believe that motivating employees to work harder by paying them based on their contribution to work is a good approach. This essay will explore why I personally agree with this view and support my stance with some examples. Indeed, this will positively affect both the workers ' aspiration to work harder and their productivity. That is to say, the majority of workers in companies, particularly blue-collar ones, primarily work for their salary rather than seeking success or career advancement opportunities. The incorporation of such an approach will encourage them to put more effort into it as they earn higher wages, enhancing the overall efficiency and performance. Take store managers as an example. Most of them do not tend to work hard as there is barely any promotion for them. However, if their hard work brings them more money, their efficiency will improve. Despite these apparent benefits, I believe companies should take one nuance of this approach into account before integrating it into the work process. First, if an employee comes down with illness or goes on vacation, missing several days or weeks at work, his contribution will sharply decrease, meaning that they will earn less. As a result, workers will be unsatisfied to receive smaller wages due to unforeseeable circumstances. In order to tackle this problem, organizations could find an average amount of money they would pay regardless of their work performance. To conclude, the incorporation of a contribution-based salary approach would benefit workers and companies— workers would earn more, while companies would experience greater efficiency.