Today more countires import food from different parts of the world. Discuss the adventages and disadvantages of this trend. Provide specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Nowadays, more countries are importing food from various regions around the globe. This helps to enhance the local economy by lowering food prices and creating more jobs, however, it can also hurt farmers who may not be able to compete with imported meals due to its lowered rates and this can have a negative impact on local agricultural industries and rural communities. To begin with, more nations have started to bring edible items from different parts of the world, as it helps to improve local economies by creating more jobs in the logistics, distribution, and retail sectors. Due to this, consumers are able to try out different cuisines and flavours at cheaper prices that aren't available locally. For example, tropical fruits like mangoes or exotic spices can be imported to moderate regions, enriching local diets. On the other hand, local agricultural organisations and rural communities are at a greater disadvantage because it becomes harder for them to compete in the local market at lowered rates. Moreover, with access to exotic cuisines, individuals are keener towards international foods and items being available at cheaper rates makes them even more favourable. This also increases the country's dependency on the global chain for importing edibles which can be disrupted by war or natural disasters leading to poor food supply and price increases. In addition to this, bringing these items from foreign countries creates the need for logistics and that results in a greater carbon footprint that negatively impacts the environment. In conclusion, importing these meals from other nations allows for local development with decreased prices of meals and empowers the creation of industries that allow for better job opportunities, however, this negatively impacts the environment, rural communities and agricultural organisations.