Some people focus on national news, while others think it is more important to be aware of international news. Discuss both views and offer your opinion

In the current world, globalization is responsible for connecting countries. As a result, there are national and international news. While some people believe it is more important to be aware of their nation's news, others think overseas news is more important. Analysing these views, I believe that a balance is necessary, since everything is connected. This essay will discuss this issue and I will present my way of seeing this problem. Firstly, national news brings information from near. According to this, watching the news, reading journals and listening to podcasts about their own country, city or neighbourhood improve their local knowledge and increase their sense of belonging. For instance, when tragic catastrophes, such as the Alfred Cyclone in Queensland, are in the news it encourages the local community to help each other. For this reason, being aware of national information can raise awareness of needs and inspire charitable action. On the other hand, international news is also important to understand the reason for some problems. For example, the consequence of burning fossil fuels – an issue that occurs in countries such as China, Brazil and India, to name just a few - is worsening climate change, a complication that affects all nations. Happily, thanks to technology, it is achievable to get to know this information in real time and act as soon as possible. Therefore, establishing a connection between different places, cultures and people would prevent obstacles in future. In summary, international or national news is important. In my perspective, economy, health, education and politics are linked to different countries. As a consequence, being aware of both information is the only way to have a united and engaged world.