Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motorbike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people are of the claim that increasing the minimum legal age for drivers is the best way to improve road safety. Although I understand the logic behind this statement, I still finally disagree with this idea for some reasons which will be discussed below. To begin with, those individuals who believe that the minimum legal age of drivers should be decreased may point out that youngsters are likely to be careless while driving. This is because they may not have enough experience in how to drive safely. To be more specific, young people do not participate in driving vehicles long enough so it leads to a lack of experience in driving, In addition, young citizens are likely to cause accidents because of lacking knowledge about traffic laws. This means that youngsters do not have enough time to be educated about traffic regulations so they tend to ignore laws as well as causing accidents. Therefore, if a driver was educated enough about traffic, road safety would be fostered. For these reasons, the standard of drivers’s age should be decreased in order to improve road safety. Nevertheless, although I understand the benefits behind this idea, I firmly believe that improving traffic infrastructures is a solution that has more advantages than the above way. Firstly, governments should invest in public transportation to foster road safety. This is because the main reason for decreased road safety is traffic congestion. To be more specific, the traffic jams may cause a lack of space on roads. As a consequence, there are more accidents as well as decreasing the safety of roads. Therefore, public transportation should be given priority by the governments to improve road safety. In addition, similarly to public vehicles, traffic systems such as traffic lights, and traffic signs should be advanced or adjusted to be more effective. One reason for this idea is that they play a vital role in controlling vehicles effectively to reduce accidents on roads as well as ensure the roads are safe enough. Thus, traffic systems should be enhanced in order to improve road safety. In conclusion, it is understandable why some people may argue that decreasing the minimum legal age of drivers is crucial for raising road safety. However, I cannot support such a view given the aforementioned reasons and traffic infrastructure is a better option.