Some people think adverts control what we purchase, while others think they are useful sources of information on products. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

In present times, according to some, social media and entertainment platforms are promoting manipulative ways to advertise control of what consumers buy, although, some believe that they are practical methods to gain details on items. In this essay, we will discuss both views followed by my take on the topic. On the one hand, adverts have a major impact on controlling a consumer's purchase. For example, at present social media platforms like Instagram and Facebook communicate a vast number of product advertisements which are visible to millions of users on a daily basis in a fascinating manner to attract individuals to obtain the item. Furthermore, companies manipulate buyers through beauty and glamour by paying actors and influencers to promote their commodities, and in return children and teenagers are curbed to buy the same. On the other hand, I believe, that making use of advertisements as a source of information is a wide advantage for consumers. An example of this would be, that companies are highly dependent on social media platforms these days as it is the easiest and cheapest way to promote their commodities. Consumers are likely to be up-to-date with the latest items and offers provided by them. This is beneficial for people and brands, as they tend to make use of these details to acquire and benefit themselves. Moreover, small businesses can benefit from advertisements to promote new products in an informative way for people to buy them. Individuals can easily get in touch with the owners for additional information and to place orders. In conclusion, both views have their upsides. I believe, that while companies tend to be manipulative through adverts, people benefit through information about the products and best bargains and buy them at the best rate.