In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

In many countries, people living in outskirt areas are migrating to urban areas, decreasing the rural population. This is considered a negative development because it increases inequality and also the cost of living in the cities. Firstly, an increase in the number of individuals moving to cities results in lower investment in rural areas, leading to higher inequality. Governments tend to allocate budgets to the areas developed for most of their citizens; therefore, there will be less money spent on the areas outside. Regarding a lack of focus from governments, rural areas can be underdeveloped. This can finally lower people's quality of life. For example, a school located far from cities cannot be fully developed or even access standard curricula because of its poor finances. The children learning at that school will be definitely behind other students in cities. Secondly, there will be population congestion, leading to high consumption rates and increasing the cost of living. When the demand for resources grows, a shortage of supply will probably occur. This influences people to pay more in order to get what they really need. For instance, the prices of accommodations in urban areas are much higher than those in countryside. Similarly, the average monthly expenditures required to survive in urban areas are too high. In conclusion, there are negative impacts caused by the migration of people from countryside to urban areas. The quality of citizens' life living outside cities differs from that in rural areas due to a lack of governments funds. Furthermore, the cost of living in cities is significantly more than those in rural areas.