Some people believe that lowering the speed limit will lead to maximum road safety. Other people believe that there are many other ways to improve road safety. Discuss both the views and give your opinion

There is no doubt that, these days, few people think that limiting the speed on the streets will influence maximum road safety. At the same time, others hold the opposite view, arguing that there are several different methods to enhance road safety. The question is: Is capping the speed a solution? In this essay, we will discuss both points of view. On the one hand, several people argue against the suggestion of limiting speed. The main reason given to support this claim is the variety of other methods that can help resolve the issue. For example, imposing traffic violations is an essential factor that can support this notion. Many drivers fear earning a violation while driving. As a result, they are more likely to drive at a stable speed. Furthermore, statistics provided by Harvard University in 2023 showed the difference in car accidents between 2020 and 2021 after implementing traffic violations in specific streets in the UK. The result was a significant decrease in car accidents by 50% in the year following that decision. This supports the argument that other methods, such as enforcing violations, are effective in reducing accidents. On the other hand, lowering the speed limit also has a great number of advantages that assist the primary goal of road safety. These include protecting many lives and preventing serious injuries to vital parts of the body. Furthermore, this step will notify many unaware drivers about the dangers of driving at high speeds. For instance, a Japanese organization shared an awareness post about the dangers of this problem with several specific centers that help people resolve their issues. They received 40,000 calls in just one day, showing the positive impact of such awareness campaigns. To sum up, there is no problem with applying this decision to guide people and avoid negative effects. However, it is not the only method to solve this issue. In my opinion, implementing this rule may not be the most crucial solution, as other methods can also effectively address road safety.