In some countries we have more cars while in others we have more bicycles. What are the causes of this? Which one is better?

Nowadays, bicycles are being popularized in some regions while in other countries cars still remain the dominant choice. This essay will discuss potential reasons behind this trend and explain why riding a bicycle is more optimal. The main reasons for society’s division regarding the choice between cards and bicycles can have several reasons ranging from geographical features to social framework created by the public. Firstly, in some countries such as Japan and the USA it is simply easier to move by bicycle as roads can be rough and hard to move by public transport or by car. Secondly, there are some norms created by society that cars are the more premium means of transportation, since many authorities and important individuals use cars for both comfort and safety reasons. Thus, there has appeared belief among the population that cars are for elite people and many trying to pretend so. The topic of whether cars or bicycles are better may vary depending on various aspects. Overall, bicycles seem to be a more optimal type of vehicle due to ecological and health factors. Since bicycles use no fuel, they are eco-friendly and do not release gas emissions into the atmosphere, In contrast, bicycles also benefit both mental and physical well-being, as riding a bicycle involves body movements and allows to improve stamina. For example, the vast majority of people in Europe are getting to their jobs with bicycles rather than cars, in order to avoid traffic jams and maintain a healthy lifestyle. Therefore, bikes are more optimal for use concerning health and efficiency. In conclusion, while cars can offer luxury and a comfortable environment, bicycles have the advantage over traffic and can greatly benefit health.