Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you thing this is a positive or negative development?

With the development of technology, some youngsters are obsessed with using their smartphones on a daily basis for hours. Entertaining features primarily can be the core reason, and this trend overall leads to a negative development as it threatens their well-being. The use of phones by children is gaining popularity across the world due to the entertainment facilities it offers with an endless supply. Children have a tendency to utilize different features of such digital tools, from gaming to watching videos and interacting with near ones. As a consequence, such interactions created a comfort zone and made the most preferable choice over other alternatives, leading to boosting their mood. The aforementioned features, such as gaming, connecting with others, and trendy videos on social platforms, could meet their expectations, thereby encouraging them to engage in them frequently. If new elements go on to be facilitated, the usage of phones among children will rise even further. Smartphones may be a good way to uplift children's moods, but they are not without their drawbacks. Overtime usage of phones has severe consequences for their overall health, eye concerns, and sedentary lifestyle in particular. Young people are prone to damaging parts of their bodies more easily as opposed to mature adults as long as they are focused on something too long. For example, smartphones spread electronic waves, which are harmful to mental ability, and long screen time also causes eye issues. Another drawback is the sedentary lifestyle that phones usually give rise to. Spending hours on phones can ultimately form that lifestyle, leading to limiting the cycle of blood and encouraging obesity. As long as dedicating too much time to screen is certainly a negative trend and may create an unwanted situation in the long term. In conclusion, while attractive aspects of smartphones serve as a means of happiness to young children, I believe that this is a completely negative development as far as overall well-being is concerned.