Some suggest that young people should take a job for a few years between school and university. Discuss what the advantages and disadvantages might be for people who do this. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In this day and age, many young individuals want to be hired for a few years between school and university. In my opinion, I think it might bring both advantages and disadvantages for students who do this. The following essay will discuss it. Firstly, taking a job helps people have better finances. When having free time, instead of staying at home or playing games, they can go out and make more money so that they can spend it purchasing their necessary or favourable things without taking money from their parents. Therefore, it also makes them become more independent and helps reduce the burden on their parents. For example, today almost all students in universities often work in many coffee shops or eateries for about 5 or 6 hours or more every day. Then they can use it to pay rent, buy food or sometimes give a gift to their family. However, having a job after school, people can meet some difficulties. They do not have much time to relax or hang out with their friends, they spend all their time studying and working. So they can be stressed and it easily leads to mental illness. For instance, after school, many young people often work as shop assistants or waitresses in restaurants or stores until 24 o’clock. Then they will come back home and have a meal with tiredness but the next morning they have to wake up early to continue their life. Because of study and work pressure, many individuals suffer from depression or health problems. In conclusion, taking a job is a very good opportunity for the young to improve their finances and life skills, however, between schools and universities, they can be under pressure which leads to some bad problems for their health.