Some species of animals are almost extinct; and many others seem to be fast approaching a similar risk. What are the reasons for this? What should be done to solve this problem? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

It is a known fact that some species of animals are at risk of extinction, while others already have. This phenomenon is caused by a lot of factors that can be connected to humans' actions. Since it is such a pressing matter with huge effect on the environment and its balance, finding a solution is fundamental. Animals' extinction's causes can be found in the environmental changes, which were caused by humans's evolution. Firstly, industries are the main cause of water pollution that destroyed a variety of habitats, causing, consequently, the death of millions creatures. For example, the contamination of sweet waters killed tons of salmons, which now are at risk of extinction. Secondly, emissions generated by traffic and industries heavily affect the air quality; toxic fumes contributed to the creation of the Ozone Hole, which led to an increase in temperatures. For instance, white bears are almost extinct because higher temperatures are melting the icycles. Since balance in the fauna is essential to the overall health of the Earth, resolving this issues is a priority. Being a problem with huge dimensions, the only way to solve it is by involving all governments. Countries have to collaborate, regulations have to be approved, and their application has to be monitored. Besides corporate regulation, smaller changes can be made in our everyday lives that can help. For example, instead of using the car for small distances, we could walk or take the bus. In conclusion, since the Industrial Revolution, humans' actions have been destroying the Earth, causing the death of millions of creatures that are fundamental for our survival; therefore, a solution is required and that can be obtained only by the collaboration of both governments and citizens.